Sunday, October 17, 2021
HomeWorldIndia Tour Sri Lanka 2021: Sri Lanka avoid whitewash with victory in...

India Tour Sri Lanka 2021: Sri Lanka avoid whitewash with victory in final ODI, India win series 2-1 – Third ODI spinner Jayavikrama Dhananjaya helps Sri Lanka bundle out India for 225 runs

Main characteristics:

The match was reduced to 47-47 overs due to rain. Sri Lanka lost seven wickets for 227 runs. Avishka Fernando scored 76 for Sri Lanka while Rajapaksa scored 65 runs. Sri Lanka avoided the whitewash, leading India and with the help of openers Avishka. Fifties from Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapaksa after Praveen Jayavikram’s lethal bowling helped Sri Lanka register an easy win over India in the third and final ODI in Colombo on Friday. Sri Lanka won by three wickets and with this victory the hosts avoided a whitewash and India won the series 2-1.

The match was interrupted by rain and the overs of the match were reduced to 47-47. Captain Shikhar Dhawan won the toss and decided to bat first. However, the Indian batsmen failed against the Sri Lankan spin bowling and the team was bowled out for 225 runs in 43.1 overs. However, Sri Lanka had a target of 227 runs to win. In reply, Sri Lanka won the match for the loss of seven wickets in 39 overs. Avishka Fernando scored 76 while Rajapaksa scored 65 runs.

Fifties from Avishka Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapakse
Openers Avishka Fernando and Bhunaka Rajapaksa batted brilliantly for Sri Lanka. Both the batsmen hit half-centuries. Sri Lanka did not have a good start and the team lost wicket-keeper opener Minod Bhanuka for 35 runs. Minod was dismissed for seven runs in 17 balls.
PM Modi stood up and congratulated the Indian team for having the tricolor in hand. Both batted brilliantly and did not give chances to Indian bowlers. The pair of Fernando and Rajapaksa shared a partnership of 109 runs. In the end, Chetan Sakariya broke the tie and got Rajapaksa out. He scored 65 runs in 56 balls with the help of 12 fours.

After Rajapaksa was dismissed, Chetan also tried to bring India back into the match by collecting Dhananjay de Silva from the pavilion. But Fernando retained a lead. De Silva got out for two runs. Aslanka’s character gave Fernando some support. He contributed 24 runs. For India, Rahul Chahar took three, Chetan Sakariya took two and Krishnappa Gautam and Hardik Pandya took one wicket each.

Disappointing batting by Indian batsmen
Batting first, the Indian team suffered a major setback in the third over. Captain opener Shikhar Dhawan was dismissed after scoring 13 runs in 11 balls. However, fellow opener Prithvi Shaw batted aggressively and moved the scoreboard fast. But the team lost wickets at regular intervals so that they could not score big.
Tokyo Olympic Opening Ceremony: Mary Kom and Manpreet Kari led the Indian team to 49 runs in 49 balls with the help of eight fours. While Sanju also immediately batted Sams. He contributed 46 runs in 46 balls with the help of five fours and a six. Manish Pandey scored 11 runs. Suryakumar Yadav once again played a useful innings. He scored 40 runs in 37 balls with the help of seven fours.

Apart from this, Hardik Pandya contributed 19 runs, Rahul Chahar 13 runs and Navdeep Saini contributed 15 runs. Akila Dhananjaya and Praveen Jayavikram took three wickets each for Sri Lanka. While Dushmantha Chameera got two points and Chamika Karunaratne and Dasun Shanaka got one point each.

Five Indian players made their debut
Five Indian cricketers have made their ODI debut with the final match against Sri Lanka. The five players include Sanju Samson, Nitish Rana, Rahul Chahar, Chetan Sakaria and Gautam.


Most Popular

Most Recent