Sunday, October 17, 2021
HomeWorldT20 World Cup 2021: T20 World Cup: 16 teams and 45 matches,...

T20 World Cup 2021: T20 World Cup: 16 teams and 45 matches, know what is the format of the tournament – ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Know about the format of the tournament

salient feature:

This year the T20 World Cup will be played in UAE-Oman, the tournament will start from October 17, the final 20 World Cup was to be played in India on November 14 but due to the situation of Corona virus, India had to play outside. There are already 8 teams in the 12th. The countdown for the next T20 World Cup has started. The tournament will start from October 17 and the final will be played on November 14. This will be the seventh T20 World Cup. West Indies will play as defending champions. West Indies won the trophy in the 2016 tournament.

The tournament was to be played in India
The T20 World Cup-2021 was to be played in India but the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to play it in UAE and Oman in view of the corona virus. Although the tournament will be hosted by the BCCI, its matches will not be played on Indian soil.

This time 16 teams will play in the tournament
A total of 16 teams are going to participate in this year’s T20 World Cup. All these 16 teams are divided into two groups. The first 8 teams in the group will play a round robin match and try to reach the Super-12. While the remaining 8 teams have been placed in the Super-12 group which will play directly in the tournament.
Lokesh Rahul gave a big ‘warning’ to England after the victory at Lord’s
Smaller teams will also participate
Along with the big teams, some smaller teams are also participating in the tournament. Smaller teams such as Ireland, Scotland, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea will also play in the tournament for the first time. The ICC announced the schedule on Tuesday. India will face Pakistan in the first match. The match between the two arch rivals will be played on October 24.

This will be the format of T20 World Cup: Total teams – 16 matches – 45

The groups were selected according to the team rankings for the tournament as of 20 March 2021. Eight teams will play in Round 1 which includes Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. This round is like a qualifier round. While the other six teams have qualified through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019.
ICC T20 World Cup Schedule: India’s first match will be against Pakistan on October 24
Teams directly entering Super-12: India, Australia, England, New Zealand, West Indies, South Africa, Pakistan, Afghanistan.

First Round Teams: Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland

Round-1: Eight teams are placed in two groups. Round Robin matches will be played in which the top two teams in each group (4 teams in total) will play in the next round (Super-12).

Round 1: Group A: Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka
Round 1: Group B: Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland

Super-12: Eight teams are in the Super-12, which includes four other teams. Which will come from playing round 1. Thus there will be a total of 12 teams.

Group-1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 (Group-A winning team), B2 (Group-B runner-up team). The top two teams will be decided by a round robin match.

Group-2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1 (Group-B winning team), A2 (Group-A runner-up team). The top two teams will be decided by a round robin match.

Knockouts: The top four teams in Group-1 and Group-2 of Super-12 will qualify for the knockouts.
First Semi-Final: A1 Vs. B2
Second Semifinal: B1 Vs. A2
Both have days reserved for the semi-finals.

Final: The winning team of the semi-finals – 1 Vs. Semi-final-2 winning team
A reserve day has also been kept for the final.

PM Modi seeks promise from Indian athletes participating in Olympics


Most Popular

Most Recent